NOTD: LGBT flags

Holy cow, guys. I’m a major slacker! I did this manicure like 3 days ago and forgot to post it! I hope you’ll forgive me 🙂 I’m super proud of this though and wanted to do it justice with a good post. First I want to show off the final mani 🙂

Wow, I am really impressed with myself with this one! This week’s theme is LGBT pride but I was at a loss for anything other than more rainbow designs but a friend suggested paying homage to each letter in LGBT with their flags! There’s a lot more than just “LGBT” in the non-heteronormative spectrum but I only have 5 fingers so I stuck with the biggies. From my index finger: Transgender, bisexual, rainbow (gay), and pink triangle (lesbian) flags/symbols. I should have done my pinky with the colors inverted so it was a black triangle on pink, and the triangle should have been pointing down instead of up…oops! That’s what I get for being in a hurry. Last night I took off the polish from my pinky and did a pink background with a black downward-facing triangle, I like it much more. You can learn more about each flag here.

It’s been bright and sunny here in SoCal lately so I was dying to break out my holographics! I figured that there was no better set of colors to use for this mani, especially for my ring finger’s rainbow flag–it’s a rainbow within a rainbow! And oh how they sparkle ❤

I also finished mixing my rainbow glitter, Pride, so I used my thumb to symbolize the LGBT ally flag. This is two coats of Pride over black and white stripes, I’m so happy with how it turned out 🙂 It’s been marinating for a few days now and there doesn’t seem to be any warping, bending, or bleeding either!

LGBT Ally

Transgender

Bisexual

Gay

Lesbian

This entire mani was freehand!! I got some more much-needed practice, I think I’m really improving 🙂

Remember, there’s still over 2 weeks left to enter my LGBT nail art contest! There’s also 2 weeks left to order the Legend of Zelda collection, if you order the full collection you get a free full-size Pride!

  • Milani HD
  • Milani Digital
  • Milani 3D
  • Milani Hi-Tech
  • Milani Cyberspace
  • Milani Hi-Res
  • Sally Hansen White On
  • Milani Black Sketch
  • Kyoti’s Nails Pride
2 thoughts on “NOTD: LGBT flags

Leave a Reply

