NOTD: The Ages of Myst

Note: I’m not a huge fan of flowers so I’m actually doing a second week of geeky/gamer nails for my personal challenge. Enjoy!

Ah, Myst. Myst was the first game I ever played through entirely on my own. I had the walkthrough book since I was only 11, but I still got through it without asking another person for help. Sometimes it was scary, sometimes it was so hard I wanted to just give up, but in the end I made it! I still replay it every so often, too, along with the rest of the games in the series.

I’m such a big fan of the game that when I recently came across my original walkthrough book, which was falling apart, I salvaged the map pages and mounted them on my wall!

There are 5 areas in Myst, the 1 main island (center picture above) and then 4 other areas. Each nail in this mani has been inspired by each of the other areas (Ages).

L-R Selenitic, Stoneship, Mechanical, Channelwood

For Selenitic and Stoneship I had to get a little creative. The Selenitic nail was inspired by the keyboard you use to open the age, specifically the diagram from the book to show you which keys to press. The stamp was a pain to use all those really thin lines took about 5 tries to pick up fully, and even then it got a little wobbly when I stamped it onto the nail. I hilighted the keys just like they were in Myst, too!

My Stoneship nail is even more obscure. In the Stoneship age you need to press a certain button to turn on the lights. The button is one in a series of buttons around a compass rose image, so I tried to recreate the compass rose on my nail. Not bad, for what I had on hand! It would’ve been nice if it had been centered but my approximating skills were off a bit.

The Mechanical Age and Channelwood were the easiest. A series of gears for Mechanical and a tree trunk for Channelwood. I actually used a zebra print stamp for the Channelwood nail, I just turned it 90 degrees so it looked like a tree pattern!

This was such a fun manicure, I might try to do Riven (the sequel) nails soon!!

  • Sally Hansen Whirlwind White
  • Generic French cream
  • Playboy mocha
  • NYC Broadway
  • China Glaze Stone Cold
  • Sally Hansen Crystal Chrome
  • Orly Glitz
  • Konad special black
  • Kiss white pen (for touchup)
  • Kiss black pen (for touchup)
  • BM203
  • BM204
  • BM207
  • BM223
One thought on “NOTD: The Ages of Myst

Leave a Reply

