NOTD: Black and White Marble with Glitter

Squeeee! I got all of my supplies for mixing up my own glitter polishes today! Check this stuff out 😀

Suspension base, tons of glitters, and empty bottles

So I’ve been mixing up some tiny test sizes to see if my glitter bleeds or not and if the suspension base really suspends the way it should. The jury’s still out on that, it takes time for glitter to bleed, but I think overall it’ll be ok. I’ll know in the morning. Now, onto my NOTD!

A blog I’m following is doing a Black and White nail art contest and I wanted to do a nice, crisp black and white water marble. My colors ended up bleeding together a little bit and I ended up with black/grey/white, which is neat but not what I was hoping for. Oh, by the way…when water marbling with black, make sure you tape off your nails! It took me about half an hour just to clean off the black 😦 And I still have bits of black stuck in the creases of my hands. Oh well, I’ll be redoing this tomorrow anyways!

Oh, and check out that glitter on my ring finger. I made that myself! *Preens* I’ve been dying for a black glitter polish for a long time but the only one I’ve ever seen is an indie and it’s more than I can afford. Today, after I got my supplies in the mail, I realized that I could make my own black glitter polish! I don’t know why I keep forgetting that I can make all these polishes I’m lusting after!

What I really like about the glitter (which I’ve named Obsidian) is that the small glitter changes color from black to purple and the larger glitter is square, not the usual hexagonal! This is exactly what I’ve been wanting! 🙂 I’m thinking I might make these to sell, would anyone consider buying it? 🙂

Shows Obsidian the best–click for hi-res!

  • Sally Hansen Whirlwind White
  • Sally Hansen White On
  • Wet n Wild Black Creme
  • Kyoti’s Nails Obsidian
Leave a Reply

