Let’s do this thing!

A few nights ago I consulted some friends about whether or not I should invest in the supplies to make some geeky glitter polish lines. Quite a few of them said they’d definitely be interested in buying if I made some, yay!

I’ve always lusted after the indie polishes but even though I’ve mixed up my own it never really occured to me that I could make these for everyone! So I took my inspiration (Legend of Zelda) and figured out what sizes and colors of glitter I’d use. Then I looked into supplies and found out it could cost as much as $300 for the supplies to just start playing around with this stuff–no. freaking. way. So I set the idea aside for a few days so I’d stop stressing over the money aspect of it.

Today, I was bored senseless and it was way too hot to walk or exercise so I was stuck in the house. “Self,” I told myself, “I really want to make these Zelda polishes. I don’t care if it’ll be expensive, let’s grab what I’ve got on hand and see if this idea could even really work!” Sometimes Self is brilliant, but don’t tell her that or it’ll go to her head 😉

The issue I’ve had with mixing up my own glitter polishes in the past is that I have to mix in normal clear nail polish to have enough to hold the glitter, then the glitter bleeds out and leaves me without a clear base (and with a very sadface :(). Even though I don’t have the right base for the glitter I have I decided to just work quickly and work in small batches so that I’d waste as little materials as possible in these mock-ups.

Boy am I glad I did!! I made 3 mock-ups (since I only had 3 empty bottles) and they turned out great! For one of them I used only glitter polishes and no clear polish so it didn’t bleed at all, for the other two I had to use clear polish so they bled out a little but they still look ok (and I got a swatch of them before they bled out, phew!). And so, my friends, I present to you my very first mock-ups of my Zelda line.

The names are just from their inspiration and won’t be their final names (copyright infringement, booo), if you have ideas for names I’m very open to it! I hope you all enjoy them and are as excited as I am!

Sorry about the crummy cell pics, I was in such a hurry to show them off!

Link: small blue, green, gold, brown, medium green. Navi: small holo, light blue, medium light blue

Link: small blue, green, gold, brown, medium green. Navi: small holo, light blue, medium light blue

Bolero of Fire: small red, gold, medium orange, red, gold

Bolero of Fire: small red, gold, medium orange, red, gold

One thought on “Let’s do this thing!

  1. […] Kyoti’s Nails The Hero (pinky) and Hey, Listen! (index) (working names, but keep an eye out for the whole line! Read more about them here) […]

Leave a Reply

