NOTD: Oh so holo

Ever since I got my first holo from Copious (still stunned I got it for a PENNY omg) I’ve become a little bit obsessed with them. I went very quickly from zero holo to 5 of them 😀 I really like Milani’s holo line, reasonably priced, pretty easy to find, and some very pretty colors.

This week’s theme is “space” and I’m getting a little sick of doing nail art, I wanted something “simple”. I settled on using Milani’s “Cyberspace“, which is a very loose interpretation of “space” 😉 I tried putting some star glitter on one nail but they didn’t stick well so I ended up redoing them.

I decided to do a little bit of experimenting with holos this time. First off: does putting a topcoat over holo really make a difference? Answer: yes! You can see in the photo below that on the left I’ve added a topcoat, on the right there’s no topcoat. On the right you can still see the linear rainbow effect, that effect doesnt’ show up as well on the left (topcoated).

Left: topcoat, right: no topcoat

Next I wanted to know if I could “make my own holo”. I put on two layers of e.l.f. Metal Madness then put one coat of  HD (silver holo) over it. It gives a really good holo effect! It’s not exactly like it would be if it was an actual holo color but it still looks great. My thumb has Metal Madness by itself and my ring finger has Metal Madness plus HD.

Thumb: Metal Madness, ring: metal madness + HD

Here’s the finished manicure! I’m really happy with it 🙂

  • Milani Cyberspace
  • e.l.f. Metal Madness
  • Milani HD
2 thoughts on “NOTD: Oh so holo

  1. […] series is the Black Jewels series (so good, definitely check it out!). I wanted a little update to yesterday’s holo mani and I noticed the colors were pretty similar to Belladonna’s cover. I added a few little […]

Leave a Reply

