NOTD: Mermaid tail

I’ve seen a few people doing “fish” nails recently, Spektor’s Nails seems to be the most commonly linked to (and for good reason, her nails turned out awesome). Polish All The Nails also did a “mermaid” style manicure using large glitter to form a kind of armor and I simply adore the look! I was feeling amazingly patient tonight and so I decided to try BOTH ideas for the first time!

In my celebratory “I haven’t bought polish for 30 days” haul I bought China Glaze Blue Iguana–a gorgeous shimmery, slightly duochrome-y blue. It’s a little sheer but I like it! Here’s Blue Iguana by itself after 2 coats.

After finishing my base color (this picture really doesn’t do it justice!) I grabbed a few coordinating shades of blue and teal. I even got to use 2 more colors I’d never used before, one from my international swap from the Netherlands and one I picked up at Walgreens weeks ago. After about an hour of dotting I ended up with a pretty neat effect! next time I’ll space the dots out a bit more but for a first try I’m really diggin’ it.

On my pinky I started working on the “nail armor” look…wow, I am glad I decided to start on my smallest nail, that’s for sure! The glitter I used was really small and if you look closely you can see that on the left side (closest to the edge of my hand) of my nail the glitter is close together…as it gets further to the right the glitter gets spaced out further, lol. It was really tough to get them spaced closely enough and placing such small glitter was really killing me. I alternated between blue and green glitter, though you can’t really tell the difference. I love the “disco ball” look it gives and I’ll definitely try it again…but probably either with bigger glitter or spaced out further.

  • China Glaze Blue Iguana
  • China Glaze Frostbite
  • Orly Sweet Peacock
  • Hema 09
  • Sinful Colors Neptune
  • Sally Hansen Blue Streak
  • Glitter
One thought on “NOTD: Mermaid tail

Leave a Reply

