NOTD: Crackle? I think not!

A few days ago I came across this blog post by The Polished Mommy, if you scroll about halfway down the page she shows the crackle color (Latticed Lilac) uncrackled! I was amazed, I had no idea you could wear crackle polishes uncrackled. The trick is to not use any sort of base. No base coat, no base color, nothing. It’s the crackle interacting with the polish beneath it that causes it to separate.

I have Latticed Lilac and I loved it as a crackle but I just had to try it as a base color. I didn’t scrub off all my previous base coat on my thumb so I had a small spot that crackled (note to self: try doing partially crackled designs! Stamping + crackle maybe?) which looked sort of weird so I didn’t do a thumb shot. This ended up with a matte finish so I added a glossy topcoat over it and it looked stunning–the lady at the leasing office for my apartment complemented me on the color 🙂

Now I know this week is supposed to be vibrant but I was dying to try the uncrackled magic, I tried to jazz this up a bit with some vibrant flower stickers. Sadly this mani only lasted a few short hours, I think it’s because I didn’t have a base coat. About 3 hours after finishing my thumb started chipping 😦 You can see some spots (such as down the middle of my index finger) where it crackled just a little bit. It wasn’t noticeable enough for me to abandon the experiment. I did 3 coats to get it fully opaque as the crackle by itself is a bit see-through.

  • No base color or base coat, only bare nail
  • China Glaze Latticed Lilac
  • Broadway Nails stickers
2 thoughts on “NOTD: Crackle? I think not!

  1. Catherine says:

    Gasp! I, too, did not realize you could wear crackle polish un-crackled. A shame to hear about it not lasting, but cute look you got there with the pink flowers!

Leave a Reply

