NOTD: The Last Unicorn

This may be my Pièce de résistance manicure. Inspired by my favorite cartoon from my childhood, incorporating all nail art techniques I’ve tried my hand at, and despite the art not turning out perfectly I am so pleased! Stamping, water marble, precision brushes, dotting tools, crystals, and taping–oh my! This was one epic manicure. 27 colors, 2 stamping plates, 3+ hours, and years of nostalgia at my fingertips.

The Last Unicorn is one of my two favorite movies from my childhood, the other being The Labyrinth (and later in life, The Nightmare Before Christmas, which will most certainly get its own manicure come October). It’s one of those movies that I could watch every day and never get tired of it. I’m 24 years old and to this day I still tear up during the movie, especially at the end. I even have the book, er, somewhere.

Neverland Nail Blog is having a nail art contest with the theme “Do you believe in magic?” I wasn’t entirely sure of the specifics for what I wanted to do but I knew I needed to do it based on The Last Unicorn. I love the idea of having a theme and doing each nail with a different character/aspect. The Unicorn/Amalthea and the Unicorns got two nails each because I love them so much!

Now, I know my art isn’t amazing but please indulge me–I’m proud of this and my ego is fragile 😉 Click the pics for larger versions!

  • Sally Hansen Purple Potion
  • Custom franken Merry & Pippin
  • Konad special black
  • Sally Hansen Whirlwind White
  • Deborah Lippmann Prelude to a Kiss
  • Revlon Pink Freeze
  • Sinful Colors Midnight Blue
  • Anise Urban Jungle
  • NYC Cashmere Creme
  • Wet n Wild Red
  • Wild n Crazy Pierre
  • Wet n Wild 9.0.2.1.Orange
  • Sinful Colors Dancing Nails
  • Sally Hansen Celeb City
  • Milani White Canvas
  • Milani Black Sketch
  • Diamond Opal Glitter
  • Hema 10
  • Sinful Colors Tokyo Pearl
  • NYC Flat Iron Green
  • Sally Hansen Green with Envy
  • Orly Luxe
  • Orly Sweet Peacock
  • Art Deco silver
  • Orly Fowl Play
  • Sally Hansen Rose Wine
  • Sinful Colors Pinky Glitter
  • BM-215
  • BM-222
  • Nail crystals
One thought on “NOTD: The Last Unicorn

  1. Ashesela says:

    These are so beautiful, and I LOVE the way you incorporated all those characters and techniques. Wonderful!! I adore that movie (and the songs!) :’D

Leave a Reply

