NOTD: The entire solar system is in my hands…

I love science! The cosmos and the solar system especially are simply amazing. If you haven’t heard the Symphony of Science songs please take a moment to check them out! Music meets science and it’s simply amazing. My favorite is A Glorious Dawn, at the bottom of the page I linked 🙂

Symphony of Science is what first got me interested in our cosmos. I’d never really heard of Carl Sagan, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Richard Dawkins, or any of the other amazing scientists featured in the songs and it simply blew my mind. After hearing the first few songs I rushed to watch Carl Sagan’s Cosmos series. Then I started watching more of Neil deGrasse Tyson’s works (NOVA ScienceNOW is a great show and it’s not Netflix!) and by then I was hooked. I was a cosmos junkie!

I recently watched The Pluto Files on Netflix which is based on Dr. Tyson’s book of the same name. It was all about how Dr. Tyson first set in motion Pluto being downgraded to a dwarf planet (which of course I’ll forgive him for!) and about just how much Pluto was loved by so many people. Check it out if you have Netflix Instant!!

And now, on to the art. Obviously the planets are not to scale and please excuse the bad art and artistic license taken in many instances 😉 Beware, there are tons of pics below! Mars and Uranus were impossible to photograph properly so I gave up and used the best of the ones I’d taken.

The sun

Mercury

Venus

Earth

Mars

Asteroid belt

Jupiter

Saturn

Uranus

Neptune

I used a ton of polishes to get this mani. Hopefully I remember all of them…

  • Wet n Wild Black Creme
  • Finger Paints Motley
  • Sally Hansen Spectrum
  • Sally Hansen Mellow Yellow mixed with Gunmetal
  • Sally Hansen Wet Cement
  • NYC Cashmere Creme
  • NYC Bryant Park
  • NYC Broadway
  • Sinful Colors Midnight Blue
  • Sinful Colors Neptune (on Neptune, of course!)
  • Orly Glitz
  • Orly Lucky Duck
  • Runts Blue Raspberry
  • Zoya Jem
  • Wet n Wild 9.0.2.1.Orange
  • Hema 79
  • Milani White Canvas
  • e.l.f. Metal Madness
  • Ugly orange franken I made
4 thoughts on “NOTD: The entire solar system is in my hands…

  1. […] match my solar system nails I had to do galaxy nails! I’d never done them before but just my second try (on my left big […]

  2. These are amazing! I really want to try a solar system mani now 🙂 I figure it may go well with my geeky blog haha.

    I also wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the Liebster Award 🙂
    http://galacticlacquer.blogspot.com/2012/04/my-first-blogger-awards.html

  3. storysmoking says:

    That is such a sweet idea, I love them! I have to try those, but I might need to go nail polish shopping first! 😀
    Navigate by stars, maybe you also like my nautical nail art! Or the Nerdy Nail Art I collected across the internet! 🙂 Maybe see you on my blog, Liz

  4. […] off, I finally have a proper cover photo–it’s my solar system manicure which I am so in love with. Then I updated my default photo with an actual nice picture of a […]

Leave a Reply

