More nail polish jewelry

I picked up some 16mm cabochons using a $5 credit to an site similar to Etsy. I only paid a penny for 12 of cabochons 😀 However I didn’t realize that they had silver backings until after I’d purchased them. My solution? File the silver backing off using an old nail file! It worked great, it left some scratches in the plastic but once I put the first coat of polish onto it the scratches disappeared.

I’ve been wanting to do galaxy nails for a while but I haven’t had the patience. I took this as an opportunity to try out the galaxy look without having to sit and wait for my nails to dry. I’m quite pleased with how they turned out!! For anyone thinking of trying this I have one suggestion: don’t try to do the little white dots like you normally do (like on these), the dots get magnified a ton by the plastic (or glass if you’re using it) and it just looks funky. Glitter made a great first layer though!

I’m not sure which colors were used for which cabochon but here’s what’s on my workstation.

  • Love & Beauty holo glitter
  • Sally Hansen Spectrum
  • Hema 09
  • Essence Where is the Party?
  • Essence Blue Addicted
  • Sally Hansen Purple Potion
  • Prisma black jelly with silver glitter
  • e.l.f. Metal Madness

Now I just need to find some settings to put them into!

One thought on “More nail polish jewelry

  1. […] Forever 21), the glitters especially are gorgeous! I used the holo glitter (second from left) on my galaxy jewelry I made yesterday. These colors didn’t have any official […]

Leave a Reply

