NOTD: I am a leaf on the wind, watch how I soar….

For those of you not familiar with Joss Whedon’s short-lived TV show Firefly, please go watch the entire series on Netflix (as well as the movie, Serenity) or you can buy the whole series for $30–it’s so worth it. I’ll wait for you, really. Take your time.

Ok, all caught up? Good! Now reminisce on that song you just heard about 15 times. The Ballad of Serenity (the intro song) just makes me melt into a pile of happy, peaceful goo.

I’ve been wanting to do a Firefly manicure for a while but had no idea what to do–a nail for each character? References to specific episodes? Jayne’s hat?? Finally it hit me. Wash’s quote from Serenity. It always gives me the chills. I may do more Firefly manicures in the future but for now I’m more pleased than words can say about how this turned out. I freehanded everything!!

Normally my hands are too shaky for anything to turn out good but with the help of dotting tools and a striper brush it turned out better than I’d hoped for. I’m so pleased with how my skills are improving!! πŸ™‚

This was another 2-part mani that I let dry overnight, so the first picture is just to show off the beautiful sparkle in Cinderella.

[Click for the pics for bigger versions]

  • NYC Cashmere Creme
  • Sinful Colors Cinderella
  • Sally Hansen Whirlwind White
  • Sally Hansen Green with Envy
  • NYC Flat Iron Green

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go rewatch the entire series + movie πŸ™‚

One thought on “NOTD: I am a leaf on the wind, watch how I soar….

  1. […] my Leaf on the Wind mani started getting major tip wear very quickly I think I type too […]

Leave a Reply

