NOTD: A glitter explosion!

Mmm, glitter. So sparkly and lovely but such a pain to remove…But today I decided to do it anyway. I didn’t want to hate myself too much when the time came to remove it so I decided to just do one accent nail on each hand–both ring fingers. Sadly, only one survived, but we’ll get to that in a minute.

I got Sinful Colors Neptune about 2 weeks ago when they had a 2/$3 sale (I picked up Nirvana for my honey) and just never used it. Last night while contemplating how I wanted to redo my nails I decided I had to try Neptune–I loved the name, the color, the shimmery finish, it was an obvious choice. I also wanted to use a metric crapton of glitter because, well, I’m a glutton for punishment.

What I ended up with was about a full millimeter of polish on top of my ring finger nail!! Two coats of Dorothy Who, two coats each alternating between a silver glitter and a teal glitter, two coats normal topcoat, and one coat Seche Vite. *phew*, it took a while to do this mani. I think it was totally worth it though because the sparkle is just to amazing!

Blurry to show all the sparkle!

Showing the thickness of 10 coats of lacquer vs 4 coats--this is not a difference in angle, this is just more lacquer than is entirely reasonable ;-D

And the reason why you let your nail polish dry fully before taking pictures…Note the major smudging on my glitter nail. Even my new love Seche Vite and 10 minutes waiting didn’t survive holding my bulky fancypants camera…

  • Sinful Colors Neptune
  • China Glaze Dorothy Who? (2x as base for accent)
  • Prisma silver glitter
  • Prisma teal glitter
3 thoughts on “NOTD: A glitter explosion!

  1. […] really wanted to try to imitate my teal accent fingers from yesterday’s manicure but with pink glitter this time. Sadly I don’t have a dense enough pink glitter that […]

  2. […] it’s taken me three tries to find a color that matches my glitter explosion accents but it was well worth the wait. My […]

  3. […] and in case you missed my last three manicures using the glitter explosion accent, here they are! Day 1, Day 2, Day […]

Leave a Reply

