NOTD: Updated Girl on Fire, with much better fire!

So last night’s Girl on Fire mani still didn’t grow on me last night. I decided I had to try again or I’d end up removing my whole mani. Ommorphia Beauty did an amazing review of the Hunger Games collection here and her Girl on Fire manicure (read to the end of the linked post! It’s worth the read if you have time) inspired my update today. Seriously, I was simply stunned by this manicure and I’ve been itching to try it myself since my flop last night. I wasn’t sure exactly how she did it so I improvised with a bit of an experiment. Thankfully, my experiment was a huge success!

I begrudgingly scrubbed off both accent nails and redid my Stone Cold base. I applied a normal quick-dry topcoat to protect Stone Cold from my nail art I was about to do and so I could more easily remove my art if it flopped again. Thankfully I didn’t need to remove anything but I think the quick-dry topcoat really helped protect Stone Cold with the needle marbling.

My experiment was this: Since there’s no way Stone Cold will stay wet enough to needle marble, can I needle marble with normal topcoat? Based on this experiment, the answer is  resounding “yes”! I don’t have Riveting from the Hunger Games collection (yet!) so I used Wet n Wild 9.0.2.1.Orange for my fire. I love how it turned out, though. If you’ve never done needle marbling you should give it a try, it’s much easier than I had expected it to be. The one thing that stinks is that you can’t use quick-dry polishes for this which rules out some of my favorite colors (like Sally Hansen Wined Up) but it’s a small price to pay for such awesome results.

Start by doing your base color (Stone Cold in this instance) and, if you want, a quick-dry topcoat to protect your base. Next, apply a thick coat (thicker than you’d ever normally do on your nail, but still not too thick or it’ll never dry) of your main color then, working quickly, apply some of your accent color where you want it. For this manicure I only wanted it at the tips. Make sure it’s thick enough to show over your base, I had to do a few extra dots for such a sheer color over the dark grey to show up properly. While everything’s still wet drag your needle through both colors to create a design, either random or like mine into a flame design. Don’t touch these nails for a while!! Sit back, relax, watch some TV and don’t use your hands. Let your thick coats dry thoroughly before topcoating (I like to wait a full hour or so. Well, “like” isn’t the right word, but you get my meaning ;-D). Topcoat and bask in the compliments!!

These pictures are before my matte topcoat (because I was impatient with the drying and had to write up this post. Thank you for putting up with all my rambling, on to the pictures 😉

Ring finger accent

Thumb accent

  • China Glaze Stone Cold
  • LA Colors topcoat (fairly slow-drying)
  • Wet n Wild 9.0.2.1.Orange
  • Matte topcoat
One thought on “NOTD: Updated Girl on Fire, with much better fire!

  1. […] But I hate that it chips so easily, even with a matte topcoat And I’m so in love with my Girl on Fire manicure that I want this to last more than a day. Last night after dyeing my hair I had two chips […]

Leave a Reply

